Skip to content

The Bard Returns To His Natural Environment

November 2, 2010

File:Gucci Mane performing at the Williamsburg Waterfront 3.jpg

I was shocked today to find my twitter timeline choked with with news of the incarceration of Gucci Mane, “The Preeminent Wordsmith of Our Time”. I really believed him when he claimed that he was a changed man, and that his last bid led to a lot of soul-searching. While doing the press junket in support of his latest album “The Appeal”, Gucci Mane, born Radric Davis said this:

“I changed a lot in there,” Davis recently told the Los Angeles Times. “I know this is serious now and I have a lot to get off my chest. This record is painful and gothic and epic, but it’s the soundtrack of my past.”

Peep my man’s use of Gothic, an homage to the “Southern Gothic” fiction of William Faulkner, Eudora Welty, Flannery O’Connor, and John Berendt that has been a huge influence on his work. Gucci Mane’s ability to merge his Southern Gothic influences with the gritty urban myth that characterizes the work of Street Lit genius Iceberg Slim is a remarkable feast for the ear and mind’s eye when he is on top of his game, but lately Gucci Mane has not been on the Acme of his Milton Bradley. Something has been missing. But don’t fret fans…. I am of the mind that it is the penis he has become accustomed to receiving during his periods of incarceration in Southern Prisons.  This should be a sad day for fans of Mr. LaFlare, but I am here to tell you that “The Gucci Massive” should be encouraged. A quick dip into penal system could be just what Gucci needs to regain the energy and momentum that characterized his 2009 output. It is this hope that is keeping me from despairing at thought of the world once again losing it’s Bard.

(AllHipHop News) Rapper Gucci Man has been arrested for a myriad of traffic infractions and had to be restrained with pepper spray, according to published reports.

Gucci, real name Radric Davis, is charged with driving on the wrong side of the road, running a red light or stop sign, damage to government property, obstruction, no license, no proof of insurance and other traffic charges, Atlanta Police spokesman Curtis Davenport told the Atlanta Journal Constitution.

Praise Jah for this day if you are a fan of ignorant traptastic rap. A return to his natural environment is just what The Reverend Dr. ordered.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2013 4:35 pm

    Howdy! Quick question that’s completely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My web site looks weird when viewing from my iphone 4. I’m trying to find a template or
    plugin that might be able to correct this issue.
    If you have any recommendations, please share.

    Many thanks!

  2. June 20, 2013 7:49 am

    Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after looking at a few of the posts I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m certainly happy I stumbled upon it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back often!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention The Bard Returns To His Natural Environment « Watch Me Yule -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

